Creating scholarship, learning and career advancement opportunities.

Creating scholarship, learning and career advancement opportunities.

Washington Media Scholars Foundation Announces 2024 Competition Winners


Washington Media Scholars Foundation Announces 2024 Competition Winners

The Washington Media Scholars Foundation (WMSF) proudly announced the winners of its 15th annual Media Scholars Case Competition at a prestigious awards luncheon held on June 6th. The event, attended by 160 media executives, university faculty, student finalists, alumni, WMSF staff, and volunteers, celebrated the exceptional talents and hard work of the participating students.

The 2024 Media Plan Case Competition winners are Abby Jensen and Shelby Moore from Brigham Young University, taking home the top prizes of $5,000 each.  The second place team, Kate Miller and Molly Fitzsimons from Ithaca College received scholarships of $3,000 each.  Additionally, the annual Mia Guion Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Stacia Drey from Iowa State University.  The first annual Nathaniel Kronisch Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Aiko Ballantyne from American University. The Excellence in Leadership award was presented to NBCUniversal President & General Manager, Jackie Bradford.  Keynote remarks were made by 2019 Media Scholar finalist Allyssa Andrews.

Throughout the week, finalists engaged in intensive workshops, networking opportunities, and hands-on learning sessions with industry leaders, providing them with invaluable insights and skills for their future careers in media, communications and public policy..

“The Media Scholars Case Competition is more than just an academic challenge; it’s a transformative experience that equips students with networks essential for their future careers,” said Robin D. Roberts, Founder and President. “The talent and dedication demonstrated by our finalists this year have been truly inspiring, and we are excited to support their academic and professional journeys with these scholarships.”

The multi-round Media Plan Case Competition requires students to prepare a comprehensive media plan and present them to a panel of industry expert judges.  2024 judges include Daniel Jester (GMMB), Becky Meyer (Gray TV), Lindsay Cooper (Katz Radio, Cecilia Scott (American Gaming Association), Andrew Yolles (LG Ad Solutions) and Brett Sullivan (Monumental Sports and Entertainment).


Since its inception, media industry sponsors have contributed $3.5 million to support over 900 students from 238 unique colleges and universities with scholarships and career opportunities through WMSF. In 2024, WMSF expects to award over $160,000 in scholarships, reinforcing its commitment to nurturing the next generation of leaders in this dynamic field. These scholarships are made possible through the generous support of our sponsors. Gray Television and Katz Media Group are the 2024 Presenting Sponsors.  Additionally, Tegna and GMMB are Premier Sponsors, with Nexstar, The Washington Post, Monumental Sports and Entertainment and CBS Television Stations serving as Lead Sponsors.  A full list of WMSF’s community of industry sponsors can be found here.


Another notable opportunity within WMSF is the Media Fellows Scholarships, a needs-based program that supports up to 90 students each year. To learn more and apply, visit


The Washington Media Scholars Foundation is dedicated to supporting the academic and professional aspirations of students interested in public policy communication and advertising. Through scholarships, immersive experiences, and industry engagement, WMSF empowers students to become influential leaders in their fields.


For more information and to view WMSF in the media and other related videos, please visit our links below. 


Meet the 2024 Media Scholars

NBC 4 President Honored for Leadership

Join the conversation online using hashtags #wmsf and #mediascholars. Follow Washington Media Scholars Foundation on LinkedIn @WashingtonMediaScholarsFoundation, on Instagram @media_scholars, on X @MediaScholars.


Sign up below to stay up to date

Sign up for special special announcements and the latest news on the Washington Media Scholars Foundation