Program Dates


Media Scholars Program

  • Registration OpensNov 30
  • Qualifying RoundNov 30 - Feb 13
  • Case CompetitionFeb 27 - Mar 29
  • Media Scholars WeekJun 3-9
  • Networking ReceptionJun 8

Media Fellows Program

  • Application DueJul 14, 2017


Members of the winning team receive $5,000 (each) in scholarship awards, along with the National Excellence in Media Award.

The first runner-ups receive $3,000 (each) in scholarship awards.

Winners of the 2015 National Excellence in Media Award

Adrienne Salazar and Ricardo Perez
California State University, Bakersfield

2015 Runner-up Team

Becky Lyle and Alexandra Sorenson
Brigham Young University – Idaho

Winners of the 2014 National Excellence in Media Award

Jeremy Wertz and Nick Gulino
University of California, Berkeley

2014 Runner-up Team

Lauren Denecke and Sara Harmon
Ithaca College

Winners of the 2013 National Excellence in Media Award

Devin Munger and Carol Wan
University of Wisconsin-Madison

2013 Runner-up Team

Daniel Johnson and Joe Margolies
Princeton University

Winners of the 2012 National Excellence in Media Award

Maria Jose Flor Agreda and Jami Vallesteros
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

2012 Runner-up Team

Diana Cui, Ithaca College and
Scott Reed, Harvard University

Winners of the 2011 National Excellence in Media Award

Paige Helling and Dana Vielmetti
University of Wisconsin-Madison

2011 Runner-up Team

Pavi Anand, Washington University in St. Louis and
Robert Bui, University of Virginia

Winners of the 2010 National Excellence in Media Award

Maria Bianchi and Laura Kovacek
Michigan State University

(No runner-up team in 2010.)